Tags

, , , , , ,

This is a contemporary pop-folk setting to Psalm 23, the Good Shepherd psalm, done in D Major (transposes to E Major) and 6/8 time signature. It might be put to good use as a praise and worship song, or even, if needed, as a second communion song.

Download Links:
Word DOC with lyrics and chords
PDF with lyrics and chords
Unfortunately, I don’t have a music piece for this with notes. If you intend to use this song, contact me so I can try to put one together for you.

Story Behind the Song:
This composition was written as a response to Fr.Eduardo Hontiveros SJ’s own Psalm 23 composition in Filipino “Ang Panginoon ang Aking Pastol,” which I learned as a young boy and never forgot. It occurs to me, that I was inevitably memorizing scripture by memorizing the Hontiveros songs I was singing for Mass. Thank God for good church music!

Usage Notes:
This was composed more as a pop song rather than a responsorial psalm. Which is why the chorus does not resolve itself, nor is it simple enough for the congregation to sing (due of the syncopation in the lyrics). It might be put to better use as a praise and worship song, or even, if needed, as a second communion song.

It’s written in a very light pop/folk arrangement, making it good for reflection as well. Although I can also imagine this being given a pop band treatment a la Hillsong.

The Good Shepherd (dark). Photo by Richard Bott on Flickr.
The Good Shepherd (dark). Photo by Richard Bott on Flickr.