Tags

, , , , ,

Responsorial Psalm for the 4th Sunday, Ordinary time, Cycle A.
The song reaffirms the place of the poor in the Lord’s eyes, recounting how faithful the Lord has been to the oppressed, the hungry, the blind, the orphans and widows.

Download the music sheets and MP3 file after the jump.

Download Links:
PDF of the music piece (in D minor)
PDF of the music piece (in E minor)
MuseScore file of the music piece
MP3 audio file taken from the video

Usage Notes:
Sing the response twice at the start and twice at the end.

Story Behind the Song:
The verses of this psalm I originally composed for “Lord Come and Save Us (Psalm 146).” Since the verses were exactly the same in text, I simply grafted on a new melody for the response.

And if you notice, the second line of the response lifts a melodic phrase from the previous responsorial psalm “The Lord is My Light (Psalm 27)“.

At least I finally got to properly notate the song on MuseScore instead of giving you a handwritten piece.

Take note there are 2 PDFs, one at the original key of E minor, but also one in the lower key of D minor — for those like me who have to sing with a cold.

PrayerWare Intention:
I’ve been thinking about this a bit. Since I don’t charge money for the music I’m making here, there should be some other type of payment I can ask from you in return. After all, it’s a human trait to undervalue something we didn’t pay for. And it hit me: I can ask for prayers. If people have freeware and postcardware (free if you send a postcard to the copyright owner), why not PrayerWare?

So here’s the big idea: with every composition from this point forward, if you end up using it, or singing it at church, I would like to ask you to say a prayer for the weekly intention. Meaning, you’re free to use the music for any non-commercial usage (photocopying, distributing, sharing, recording, giving away) as long as you remember to pray for the stated intention.

This week, will you please pray for all those who’ve left the Catholic Church? That they may be enlightened to the truth and return to the one true church that Jesus founded.

God bless your music ministries.

Bread and Beggar. Painting by SAVITA SINGH BHADOURIA.

Bread and Beggar. Painting by SAVITA SINGH BHADOURIA.