Tags

, , , , , ,

This is the Responsorial Psalm for Palm Sunday, cycle A.
A song foretelling Jesus’ suffering and passion, taken from Psalm 22.

Download the music sheet after the jump.

Download Links:
PDF of the music piece.
MuseScore file used to assemble the music piece.
[No audio or video for this song unfortunately.]

Usage Notes:
Sing the response twice at the start and end of the song. Sing only once in between verses.

Story Behind the Song:
This was written in the Gregorian chant style, though it sticks to a strict rhythm. The psalm music was composed in my head as I drove my family from the San Francisco Bay Area to Los Angeles, and I had to keep humming it to myself in order not to forget it. I put the words to the melody the very night we arrived in L.A.

Prayer-ware Intention:
Feel free to use this music for all non-commercial purposes. I ask for no payments or donations. I do however ask that you please pray for an intention for each song you use.

For this psalm, please pray for:
all those unemployed (including myself). That the Lord may give them employment soon and they might give glory to God for His kindness and faithfulness.

Final Word:
If this music is a blessing to you, feel free to spread the word. Join me on Facebook (http://www.facebook.com/MassMusicByLionel) so you get the latest music pieces and videos — much earlier than on this blog. Why? It’s much easier to immediately post a link to an uploaded music piece or video via Facebook than it is to sit down and write a complete blog entry!

God bless your music ministries. May you be used to spread the love and joy of Jesus our Lord through the music He’s blessed you with.

Scenes_from_the_Passion_of_Christ

The crucifixion, from the passion of Christ (from the Passion of Christ series). wool and silk. 301 × 463 cm. Amsterdam