Tags

, , , , ,

“In You Lord, I Have Found My Peace (Psalm 131)” is the responsorial psalm for the 31st Sunday in Ordinary Time, cycle A.

Download links for the music sheet are after the jump.

Download Links:
PDF of the music piece
MuseScore file used to construct the music piece

Story Behind the Song:
To my ear and mind, the D-minor key is the most mysterious of the key signatures. Especially when you use a D-minor with a BbMajor7 close to it, which was a chord progression used in the Filipino “Lord Have Mercy” setting composed by Fr.Edward Hontiveros SJ that I learned as a child. I’ve always loved Mass songs written with that combination, which is probably why I use a lot of it in my own music.

The idea here was to bring in some of that mystery into the music so that it echoes the (almost) inexplicable fact that in Jesus, we can find peace and comfort no matter what chaos happens to us in this world which we pass through.

Song Usage Notes:
Sing response twice at the start and only once at the end. Slow down in the last response.
Keep tempo slow so that the verses aren’t difficult to sing.

Prayer Intention:
If you use this music, please do so for non-commercial purposes. I do ask that you please pray for an intention for each song you use. For this psalm, please pray for: all victims of brutality ind injustice that they may find comfort and peace in the Lord.

Final Word:
If this music is a blessing to you, feel free to spread the word. Join me on Facebook so you get the latest music pieces and videos — much earlier than on this blog.

God bless your music ministries. May your music help people reach Jesus our Lord in prayer!

The Virgin and Child with a Shoot of Olive by Andrea Previtali

The Virgin and Child with a Shoot of Olive by Andrea Previtali